Home > Life, Writing > Life gets in the way.

Life gets in the way.

It’s funny how life can get in the way of your life. That probably doesn’t sound right but what I mean is that you can plan all you want for what you’re going to do in your life and life just gets in the way to change it. Over the last few weeks I’ve had personal health issue that saw me disappearing into the quiet of my mind. But really, it’s not that quiet up there and with the wonderful imagination I have it got downright scary. But all is under control and we’re moving forward with a positive outlook. So while this has all been going on I’ve done very little writing and I’m feeling the effects. I’ve got people screaming at me from up there.

I’ve managed to get some writing done on Flash Point and I’ve had a new character pop up with a very interesting predicement. I’ve done a little on that and I’ll be adding the word count to my WIP page as well us updating Flash Point.

I finally finished the last of the books for the competition I was helping to judge. I really enjoyed that and ended up reading 14 books. I’m not exactly sure when the results will be in but I’ll blog about it when they are. I’ll also do a bit about the behind the scenes work involved.

I spoilt myself on the weekend and finally picked up a book that I’d purchased. Not a review book, not a competition book, a book I’d bought and paid for to read for pleasure. Damn it was good. Thank you NJ for sharing a wonderful story. Discovering Dani is the first book in NJ Walters Jamesville series. I have the others and there is a new one coming out soon. I’ll be buying that of course. If you want to check it out and I personally recommend you do, you can find all the info on NJ’s site which you’ll find a link to in the sidebar under author websites. I’m picking up the second book in the series this afternoon after I’ve done some writing.

‘See’ ya soon.

Rachel

Categories: Life, Writing
  1. April 14, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Reading simply for pleasure is something I really miss Rachel. It sounds like you picked a good one too – I keep meaning to read some of NJ’s stuff. I’ll have to make a point of it soon.

    Cheers,
    Sami

  2. April 14, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Hey, Rachel. Glad your health issues have taken a turn for the better and that your writing on your WIP is moving right along.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Discovering Dani. Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation.

    And Sami, if you get a chance to read anything of mine, I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  3. April 18, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Enjoy you time away from it all! Positive is the only way to go – what is the use of the other??

    Look forward to hearing from you when you’re back!

    Amanda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

