Home > Writing > When the bubble bursts.

When the bubble bursts.

When I’m writing a story I love it. I’m so in love with it that I think, ‘yes this is the one.’ I’m still in love with it when I write ‘The End’, not that I ever actually write those words but you get what I mean. The I stick it in the bottom draw and let it mature before pulling it out for the edit/polish stage. And that’s when it hits me. I hate it. It sucks! Yep, bubble burst! So what happened? Why is this great story suddenly not so great? What happened down in that bottom draw? If there’s a word eater in there eating all my great words I’m gonna be really pissed!

I don’t get it, at all! I mean I can see the spelling errors (remember this is my personal flaw) and the grammar ones (another personal flaw), but why does the whole thing suddenly not look so good? And why did it look so good when I was busy spinning the tale? And the editing is harder because I hate it. I had a big whinge about it last night to Sandie, poor girl I think I hurt her ears. She’s got the same thing, so is it an author thing in general or just us newbies/unpub’s? I’m hoping someone will stop by and say it goes away but I’ve got a horrible feeling that it’s gonna be here to stay. Devon has read to chapter four and she likes it. Amie Stuart did a crit of the first 30 pages and she said it was a good story but needed the edit/polish, which was fine because it hadn’t had any when she read it.

So it’s not a complete loss. Well, probably not at all but I’ve got that insecure author thing going on and it fits so well that I don’t want to take it off. It doesn’t help that my latest bunch of characters are all screaming for my attention. I need to get back to them to get their stories told but I’ve promised myself I’ll get On A Wing And A Prayer ready to submit. Where’s those CP’s with their trusty boots when I need them?

I guess I just have to do it. sigh! Does someone want to do it for me? No. Okay, I get it, I’m going now. Back to the editing hole.

‘See’ ya soon.

Rachel

Categories: Writing
  1. April 28, 2008 at 4:22 am

    No idea how to help you with this as I’ve never gotten to this stage with a novel (other writing yes, but not a novel).

    Without knowing all the details, I suspect you are trying to edit it all in one go and it just looks overwhelming. Is it possible to break it up into smaller tasks? E.g. read through it once quickly to make sure the story is cohesive, make your changes and then read through it again this time focusing on grammar, make your changes and then do it all again with spelling? Maybe you are doing that anyway? How do other people do it?

  2. April 28, 2008 at 4:28 am

    That’s a good question. How are we supposed to do this?
    Things are desperate over here. I’m even playing games on the computer now.
    I’m doing chapter by chapter edit/polish. I’m still not liking the story. Why is that? Have I moved on? is that it?
    All right! I’m going! Back to the editing hole.

  3. Angie Trianta
    April 28, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Rachel, why don’t you consider signing up for Rachel Kihlstrom’s Revisions online course? It has already started, but April will most likely let you start late. Besides, we have only received one lesson so far (which was the intro really). I’ve signed up for the class, as has Sussan. I have done one of April’s online courses before, and I can personally vouch that you will get value for money. Here are the details:

    Revisions the Practical Way:

    Dates: April 25, 2008 to May 9, 2008
    Cost: $25 (this time only–price will probably go up for future
    versions of this class) and payment may be made by check or by
    Paypal.

    Deadline to sign up: April 23

    To sign up for Revisions the Practical Way send an email to
    aprilkihlstrom@yahoo.com with the title of the class in the subject
    line and in the body of the email please let me know whether you
    prefer to pay by check or Paypal.

    (Payments can be sent directly to me at this email address via
    Paypal’s “send money” option or I can send you an invoice from
    Paypal or you can mail me a check at April Kihlstrom, P.O. Box 2613,
    Pflugerville, TX 78691-2613.)

    The class will be run by having members sign onto an email loop and
    lessons will arrive via that loop. There will be opportunity for
    discussion on the loop but one also has the option of requesting
    lessons only.

    Course descriptions for Revisions the Practical Way

    I believe that there is a far easier, quicker and more effective
    approach to making revisions than beginning with page 1 and making
    changes there. This course will take a layered approach to making
    revisions. Every change, after all, has a ripple effect!

    Lessons are designed to take the author through the revision process
    in a way that minimizes the rewriting time. It is based on the
    concept that if one asks the right questions—in the right order—
    before one begins rewriting, the process is easier and faster and
    more effective.

    Bio: April Kihlstrom is an award winning author of 31 published
    romance novels. Romantic Times has called her a “rising star” and
    a “diamond of the first water”. April offers coaching to fellow
    writers as well as classes and workshops in writing to both romance
    and non-romance writers and has spoken at many conferences
    including: the RWA national conference (romance) and the East of
    Eden conference (non-romance).

    Note: Please feel free to share this information with anyone to
    whom it might be of interest.

    __._,_.___

  4. April 28, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Edits suck. Edits ALWAYS suck. I LOVE sitting down with a hot sheaf of paper and whittling/chopping/adding/fleshing out etc…but I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE inputting edits. It’s hard tedious work but it’s also part of the job.

    Now get cracking. Writing is easy–it’s all that other stuff that’s hard!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

