Home > News, Writing > A funny thing happened on the way to the story.

A funny thing happened on the way to the story.

So I’ve been doing the second draft of On A Wind And A Prayer. I did mention that I hated this story. Well I did. It was great when I was writing it but it totally lost me when I opened it to start the edit/polish. Chapters 1 – 4 were a definite struggle. In fact they sucked the big one. Chapters 5 & 6 weren’t so bad, but what’s amazing to me is that by the time I got to chapter 7 I was falling in love again. Actually, I think I’d already fallen. It might have happen between 5 & 6, I’m not sure, but suddenly the passion was back. I remembered why I loved this book so much when I wrote it. I love the whole idea of this book, it’s outside what I normally write and required more imagination than just a normal romance would, but I was feeling it again. Finally!

I’m done with the second draft. Yep. Closed the file and tomorrow I’ll open it up and read it right through, no stopping. (Okay, there’ll be toilet breaks.) Then if nothing jumps out at me it’s bye bye baby. Off to visit with the CP’s. Then when they’ve picked it to pieces and I’ve cried and hated it all over again, I’ll pull out the red pen and do it all again. After that, it’s going to the publisher. (Oh, God! Did I just say that?) From there I’ll probably bite all my lovely long nails off. Or maybe pull all my hair out. Or I might just get stuck back into Flash Point, or Heartthrob, or the great new story that hit me in the shower earlier today. (Yes I have more people moving into my head.) We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post on another blog about being struck by lightning (aka inspiration). I’ve been known to be struck at odd moments, for instance I had a whole scene roll out in my head on a busy street corner after colliding with a complete stranger. And yes, I stood there for a good 10 minutes looking like a complete space cadet. Today I was struck in the shower, I know dangerous place for lightning and you would think I’d know not to shower by now because it never fails to strike while I’m in there. Off on a tangent again, back to where I was going, new idea. Actually, new character. And she’s talking. I’m not talking for her, she’s talking, telling it from her point of view. I’ve done first person writing before, quite a lot actually but I’ve never thought about anything more than playing around with it. Well, no that’s a lie, I have one character who always talks in first person and then I have to turn it into third person once that story is finished. That’s what I’d thought I do because the rest of it is in third person. So back to today. Lux. Yeah, her name is Lux, long story and you’ll just have to wait for the book. She’s intriguing to say the least and down right enthralling. I can’t wait to start writing for her. But I will. I’m not sure she’s more than a short story, very short but you never know.

Well, it’s after 11pm and I’ve earned my reading time. I’m off to bed with my iPAQ full of ebooks. Decisions, decisions. Which one will I choose?

‘See’ ya soon.

Rachel

Categories: News, Writing
  1. May 3, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I’m SO Pround of you getting your second draft done. YAY.

    Hugs
    Sandie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

