Home > News, Writing > Who hit the fast forward button??

Who hit the fast forward button??

I’ve been quiet since returning from Manila, not because of the sore throat I ended up with but because Sunday was Mother’s Day and this year Mother’s Day turned out very special. I didn’t turn the computer on until almost lunch time. Hey, couldn’t knock back the 11 year old making me breakfast in bed! Anyway, I opened my emails, saw the number and thought everyone had been having a party without me. I quickly scanned the names and subjects and when I came across a name I didn’t know I read the subject. Are you interested in submitting? Well yeah, but who besides those companies after your money to ‘help’ you get published sends out emails? I was gonna spam box it. Not even sure what stopped me. I didn’t though.

I actually left it for over an hour, which I feel really bad about now, but I did open it. It was an editor with an epublisher that’s well known, not one of the really large ones but large enough. She’d come across me through a writing friend of mine and popped over here. After reading my excerpt she thought my story would fit in the line she edits for. If I was interest send a query/synopsis as per guidelines but put her name in the query saying she’d requested my work. Needless to say I screamed the house down, Hubby and son 1 came running and because I couldn’t speak just point at the monitor I got that look. You know the one, the ‘oh…… she’s finally lost it’ one. Getting the word read out is the hardest thing I’ve ever done and I’ve given birth to four children naturally!

Umm….. Helllloooooo. Am I going to let this particular red carpet go unwalked? Hell no! It was a good thing I’d done some bare bones structure of a synopsis while I was away in Manila. It took me most of Sunday and Monday to be happy with not just the synopsis but the query as well. It took five minutes to press the send button on that email. But I did it and they had my query first thing Monday morning their time, that’s the one bonus of being at least twelve hours ahead of the US. I can’t exactly work out the days because Tuesday for the US is Wednesday for Singapore but I’ll say two days later I got the request for the first three chapters. Today I go the request for the full.

I don’t think I’ve breathed since Sunday and my feet haven’t touched the ground at all today. I don’t care if it gets rejected, at this point I’ve got to the stage we all want to get to, having the whole story under the editors eyes. This is my first. First everything. And that’s the hard part, there are things you don’t know, things you can’t know until you’re here. Now I’ve hit a snag in the plans I’d made for publication. I want to published under my own name, and I will, just not this story. I wanted to use Rachel C because it’s what I’m known as but that has problems and is really close to my real name. I need a new one!

Yesterday, after much debate and rearranging of letters I came up with my pen name. For the first name I took one letter from each of my family’s first names and for the last name I took the first letter of my married and middle names and added them to my maiden name.

Rhian Cahill.

I’m in the process of getting blog and email set up, while chewing my nails off over the submission, and I’ll let everyone know when they’re up and running. I’ll still be handing around here because I will continue to write the stories that I’ll publish under Rachel Charlton. But for my Erotic Romance I’ll use Rhian Cahill.

Back to writing, I need to get going on Flash Point so I’ve got something else to send out soon. And this lovely red carpet is just the incentive a writer needs to go without food, water and sleep.

‘See’ ya soon!

Rachel

Categories: News, Writing
  1. Bec
    May 15, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Hi,

    I just saw your mail on 50 in 30 and came here to read cos i’m nosy.
    Congratulations! Really Great – and i don’t even know you.
    Enjoy every moment!

    Hugs, Bec

  2. May 15, 2008 at 10:27 am

    AYAYAYAYA, Way to go sweetpea. I’m so happy for you. I’ll be a lot more happy when your submission is accepted. Love the pen name.

    What a great idea. My pen name for my erotica is my real first name and last name the town I grew up in well ATM it is.

    Can’t wait to see your new blog. Are you going to do a myspace as well.

    Oh sorry you were too late with the don’t laugh warning I’d already started laughing.

    Love ya Hugs
    Sandie

  3. May 15, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Congrats Rachel – doing a happy dance for you. Fingers crossed it all goes well and congrats on picking your pen name.
    🙂

  4. May 15, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Fabulous news Rachel! Enjoy the ride and make sure you keep us updated.

    Love the pen name too!

  5. May 15, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Hey Rachel

    What an exciting blog post!! And it’s an amazing story… she finding you and all. Congrats and fingers crossed they want the rest!

    RACH!

  6. May 16, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Woohoo, Rachel!!!! Awesome!!!!

    I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed for you!!!!

    Keep us posted.

    Tami

  7. May 16, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Thanks Everyone,
    I’m slowly getting my head around it.

  8. May 16, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Congrats! That is wonderful!!! And I LOVE your pen name!

  9. Angie Trianta
    May 17, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Sorry, coming in late here. Congrats, Rachel! That’s fantastic news!!! Good luck.

    Great pen name BTW. And I loved the story on how you came up with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

