Home > News, Writing > No news is good news, right?

No news is good news, right?

Right? I mean if I haven’t heard then it hasn’t been rejected, right? RIGHT?

This is far worse than I had imagined, maybe it was because the week of my submission was a non-stop roller coaster ride then the in-laws were here for a visit and we played tour guide for over a week. Now they’re gone and it’s just sooooo quiet and I have way too much time to think about it all now. I know the editor doesn’t just have my submission, she has other submissions plus all her existing writers to look after. I’ll cut her some slack, I will honest, but in the mean time; COULD YOU HURRY UP!!! Please!

Can you tell patience is not one of my strong suits. Well, I don’t even have that suit! But I most go buy one because that’s what this industry is all about. Waiting. Waiting to finish your wip. Waiting to get the CP’s thoughts. Waiting to hear from your editor when you submit it. Waiting for edits if they buy it. Waiting for cover art. Waiting for release date. Waiting to see how well it sells. Mmmmm…… I see a pattern here. I’m not that fond of patterns.

If I want this I need to wait. Be patient. Think good thoughts. Write more stories. Wait to finish those stories. Wait for the editor to get back when I submit the stories. Wait for……  Oh dear! Could someone stop the merry-go-round?

Well I’m waiting. Not so patiently but I’m waiting.

‘See’ ya.

Rachel

Categories: News, Writing
  1. May 30, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    I’ve still got my fingers crossed for you! And yes, no new can surely be good news!!!

  2. June 1, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I feel your pain Rachel, been doing a bit of waiting myself lately. The business of writing is a very slow proposition for those of us not blessed with calm, patient temperaments.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

