Home > Writing > June is done!

June is done!

Our challenge for June is over. 50ksIn30days took me through some interesting learning curves. I’ve found that when I put my mind to it I can write like a mad woman. I’ve found I can’t work on only one wip (although I kind of already knew that). I’ve found the friendship I had with some of my fellow Aussie writers is essential and I’ve found some new friendships to go with the existing ones. But the best part about the challenge has been the knowledge that writers come in all shapes and sizes, all of us have our own way of doing things and what’s right for one isn’t write for another. Some of us work well under a deadline while others can’t seem to work under one at all. I guess like the stories we tell, we come in all types.

I absolutely killed the challenge, notching up an amazing 100,015 words for the month of June. Of course working on five different wip’s means nothing’s finished, but a couple are close. I worked on Rachel’s and Rhian’s wip’s so I guess there was two of me doing the challenge so I really needed to get that double challenge figure. The romantic suspense I’m working on is coming along well and even a little scary in parts. the evil ex is more evil than I thought but then he needs to be, I’ve gotta get enough out of him for two books.

To my fellow Ringmasters (better known as the topless table dancing tarts) I thank you both for being such great friends. I’d really like to get together but I’m afraid I can’t afford to go to Melbourne for the RWAus conference and Sandie doesn’t do planes, so poor Diane will be the only Ringmaster in attendance. I’m sure she’ll do us proud.

I’m hoping to put up a excerpt today of Mr. Nasty but with the kid being a pain (school holidays) I’m not sure he’ll leave me alone long enough.

‘See’ ya soon.

Rachel

Categories: Writing
  1. July 3, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Congratulations Rachel – you 50 k in 30 day chicks blow me away!

  2. July 5, 2008 at 2:14 am

    WooHoo baby doll–you made it! Well done! I knew you could–now….I want to read it! Way to go, CP!

    Mari

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

