Home > Life, Writing > Things that get in the way.

Things that get in the way.

My new assistant

My new assistant

You know I’m really, really over everything I’m supposed to do. This writing full time and being home so I’m available for my kids is not working. Well, it’s working a little too well. You see because I’m here, at my desk and my door is open I’m available. Yes I’m in the middle of a scene but that’s okay what can I do for you? Oh, and you. And you. And you too?!?! I’ve had this scene rolling in my head with Jolene and the latest woman to seek refuge in her house but I can’t put my butt down long enough to get the damn thing typed out! There’s always something someone needs or wants. Although at the moment it’s needs. We’re in the process of changing the Princesses to home schooling and I’m talking to the virtual school in the US and the Aussie school here and sorting out when they’ll start, what they’ll need etc. Which is okay I want them sorted and back to doing something other than asking me what’s for lunch. I am thinking I’ll be hearing that question a lot now they’ll be in the next room all day every day. LOL

So I’ve decided that I’m gonna have to get tough with these people that claim to love me and tell them I’ll be unavailable at ‘this’ time unless someone is bleeding to death or there’s a natural disaster heading our way. do I think it’ll work? Not a chance but it’s worth a shot. I’d really have to employ that assistant to stand guard at the door if I wanted to get serious about shutting them out. He’s gorgeous but I think he’d cause more mess than I have now. *sigh*

I’d like to say I’m off to get that scene written but alas not. I’m off to Ikea to get some things the girls ‘desperately’ need for their room and this home schooling venture. I’m sure it just a story to get me to spend money but what can I do?

‘See’ ya soon.

Rachel

Categories: Life, Writing
  1. September 11, 2008 at 12:49 am

    I can understand how frustrating it is to give up the joy of writing for the things that need to be done and attended to. Did you have fun at IKEA – never know what ideas will pop into your head!

    I think it’s great your kids are being home schooled – they’ll all get a chance to co-operate together. But I hope it all settles down soon for you so you can get back to Jolene.

  2. September 15, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Gosh, it’s sounds like my experience. Kids are a distraction, aren’t they?! My idea is to be a full time writer but be there for the kids, but I’m thinking I live in a fantasy world!! 🙂 Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

